Nepal lifts the ACC U-16 Premier League Trophy

Nepal lifts the ACC U-16 premier league trophy defeating Malaysia by 32 runs on Wednesday.

Nepal has created history by winning this ACC U-16 Premier league, Nepal is only the country under ACC to win the entire age group tournament. Nepal had already bagged the trophy for U-15s, U-17s and the U-19s titles.

Nepal sets target of 162 runs to Malaysia to win but they were finished with 129 runs in 36th over.

Pawan Sarraf was the highest runs maker with 44 runs from just 26 balls including his supper two sixes in the match for Nepal. Likewise, Ravi Chand makes 34 runs as a second scorer. After Ravi Chand, Asif Sheikh was another good cricketer who scored another 20 runs for the Nepal.

Host country Malaysia won the toss and selects Nepal to bat first at the Kinrara Oval in Kuala Lampur. Nepal performance were not up to the mark, they lost early wickets with less runs but the Pawan Sarraf’s excellent batting helped Nepal to lift the trophy.

CAN to reward NPR 20, 000 to each players on the today’s victory at Kuala Lampur, Malaysia.

Muhammad Islah took four wickets for Malaysia.

Jitendra Singh took two wickets for Nepal and Anil Kharel, Ashish Pokhrel, Rijan Dhakal took a wicket each.

It is the proud moment for Nepal and Nepalese cricket team. Nepal’s Assistant Coach Raju Basnyat said “ This is a great win for our team, they have worked hard in testing circumstances to prepare for this tournament and a lot of the players already have good futures in the game.”

The report of ACC U-16 Premier 2014
Winners: Nepal
Most Promising Player: Anil Kharel (Nepal)
Bowler of the Tournament: Jitendra Singh (Nepal)
Batsman of the Tournament: Virandeep Singh (Malaysia)
Player of the Tournament: Virandeep Singh (Malaysia)

Zeal Sharma

Leave a Reply